diary entry #158

i don't know how to start this. this is all really difficult to say. it all hurts to think about, not only about what happened to me, but also what happened to the other person in this story. i really don't know if i can say exactly what happened last night, or the night before, even if this is all private. just typing this makes me want to cry, and it all just makes me feel so stupid...like, i should've been able to stop this. i should've helped before it was too late.

i wish this never happened. but it did. and i need to talk about it.

i broke up with my girlfriend last night.

to make things short, i basically found out that she was an alcoholic. it hurt so much for me to see her in the state she was in that even then i considered breaking up with her temporarily until she could recover right then. but then i discovered that a week or so earlier she'd...i can't even say it. it's too difficult. just know that, in some way, she cheated on me while drunk. and sure, she was unable to control herself then, being drunk and all...but it was such a huge violation of my trust. i always try not to be too emotional about this stuff, to stay impartial, but...i couldn't trust her after that.

i broke up with her while she was sober the next day. she didn't take it well. i wish i could take it all back. but i know this is what's best for her, and what's best for me, even if it hurts us both to do.

i don't know what to do from here. i just hurt so bad. i wish i could forget about this.